Lockdown of our Economy

Oh dear. The fruits in my garden have not even flowered yet. Our season is different to yours. I have just found an egg and my neighbour has kindly given me some bread, so I am going to try to cook it now with a cup of coffee. I keep leaving the kitchen to see who is messaging me.
Just a part copy of a recent message I sent to a friend who lives many miles away. It illustrates some of the practicalities of the present lockdown and the worldwide crisis.

It is indeed a worldwide crises with all our liberties and comprehensions open for debate. A return to the new normal is often quoted, but do we really need the normal back with all its injustices. It could be a time for us to plan for a new future which is environmentally friendly and fair for all.

It is a very sad time for so many throughout the world and I believe that the lockdown regulations should be followed. However, the implications for economics and our future healthcare is enormous. I will write in more detail after the virus has passed, as I do not want to write only in the realms of hypothesis. It is clearly a time that we can plan for a new a more fairer society for all.

Following Science only, when it is confused with value led social Science is surely not the way forward. Laying blame can also be unhelpful and we must surely look positively forward for our environment and our future generations.

Despite the future economic slump we can be positive and plan for the future and build a new world order without war, progressive and just for all.

Perhaps our fruits will flower, if we work at it together and in solidarity.

One thought on “Lockdown of our Economy

  1. Please see profile and latest post. Thanks. Ivor Timson August 2021
    The Pandemic continues and so many brave people over the world have taken a progressive stance. I remain supportive of most sanctions, but feel sure that some Governments are using it all as a way of restricting our liberties and human rights.
    I remain proud of my organised campaigns against all wars and for a environment free from all pollution.
    I am also proud of our huge campaign for free transport for all in the West Midlands, when I was Regional Secretary and so many other successful campaigns.
    The following was written after we had produced so many bulletins, so many well attended meetings, so many campaigns and the support of one Labour Party Councillor.

    Unfortunately, no Labour Councillor turned up to our main rally, but many from North Warwickshire did so. Very sad, for the Labour Party.

    EMMA RAY Coventry Evening Telegraph reported
    ANTI-WAR protesters took over the steps of Nuneaton Town Hall last night to show their disgust at the start of bombing raids on Iraq.
    The Stop the War Group, covering Nuneaton, Bedworth and north Warwickshire, organised the 6pm protest after the first exchanges between troops in the early hours of yesterday morning.
    They bought banners, posters, leaflets and a determination to make their feelings known about what they called a “bloody war” and a “war for oil”.
    About 100 people had already gathered by 6.15pm and organiser Ivor Timson was hoping that by the end of the night, more than 500 people would have turned out to give voice to their concerns.
    He said: “This has been very difficult to organise because it’s had to be done in such a short space of time.
    “But people keep turning up and I’m hoping 500 people will have passed through.
    “Our rally on Saturday, at 12pm, is what we are working towards. It’s something we’ve been planning for a long time.”
    Former mayors of North Warwickshire, husband and wife Anne and Derek Forwood, had gone along to voice concerns over a war without UN backing.
    Mr Forwood said: “I’m so cross about Britain and the US ignoring the United Nations and taking unilateral action that I felt I should come along and protest.”
    Cllr Anne Forwood (Lab, Atherstone North) said: “You have to go with your convictions. If they had UN backing I think a lot of people would feel differently.”
    Many young people also took part, waving banners and urging cars to honk horns in support.
    Sean Cairns, aged 15, of Marwood Close, Nuneaton, said: “I don’t want there to be a war because lots of innocent people will die and war is bad.”
    CAPTION(S):
    STRONG FEELINGS: Young people gather on the Town Hall steps, and (right) former mayors of North Warwickshire Ann and Derek Forwood. Pictures: ROBIN BIDGOOD; CONCERNS: Ivor Timson
    We sent coaches to London.
    So back to the Pandemic and my final post in this extended Blog.
    Whilst, being very proud of what I have achieved in my lifetime, I still feel strongly that we should continue our campaigns for our environmental and social and human rights.
    Keep up the good work throughout the world.
    A final post and thanks for reading over the years.
    Good luck to all and my sincere condolences to all who we have lost.
    Ivor Timson August 2021

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.